top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

Am I the new Tommy Smokes?

What's up guys. I've been really busy watching baseball lately so I haven't set aside much time to write for you guys but when I was watching the Angels/Mariners game earlier today, I had a brilliant thought cross my mind that I needed to just get out on paper. As many of you may know, when there is an error in baseball with two outs, all runs surrendered for the rest of that inning are unearned. This was the case in the Angels/Mariners game today when Mariners second baseman, Shed Long Jr. made a fielding error in the bottom of the 5th inning with two outs to allowing the inning to proceed. The next batter hit a home run and thus the runs were unearned for Mariners pitcher, Marco Gonzalez, because if Shed Long Jr. had made the out he was supposed to make the batter before, that home run never would have happened. This made me think. Why are the runs unearned but not the hit? This home run affected Gonzalez's WHIP. And after the home run, what if Gonzalez walked another guy or gave up another hit or even another home run. These all would affect his WHIP but wouldn't do any damage to his ERA. Am I the first person to ever think of this? There should really be unearned hits, unearned walks, and even unearned strikeouts. If Shed Long Jr. fields that routine ground ball cleanly and throws to first base you get a regular out. However, if he makes an error and you strikeout the next batter, that strikeout should be unearned. Why is baseball so inconsistent and dumb? I'll never understand. You can call me Tommy Smokes of you want. Thank you for your time.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page