top of page

Scoop's Fantasy Baseball League Pre-Draft Post-Keepers Analysis

Hey Everybody. Its BXYFalcon here. Last year, I wrote a blog about Scoop’s Fantasy baseball league. It was a huge hit. For anyone that doesn’t already know, I am not a big baseball guy. I consider myself a Mets supporter (I can’t say fan because I will be ridiculed (check out my blog about fans)) but I am in no way an expert and I most likely won’t even watch the world series unless its Game 7 and we’re past the 6th inning. Then yeah Ill tune in. But I decided to do yet another analysis. He hasn’t had his draft yet. These are just the teams with their keepers. The draft is later this month. I will be doing another analysis then. This will be a recap of last year and a post keeper pre-draft analysis. I’ll discuss the teams in the order that they finished in the standings last year. Enjoy!

Here are the rosters if you want to check them out:



1. Old Lyme Yankees

Last Year’s Prediction: 12th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 1st

Balance Available for Draft: $167

The Old Lyme Yankees won the Manhattan Maulers League. A real man can admit when he was wrong. And I am happy to admit I truly messed up when evaluating the Old Lyme Yankees. Nelson Cruz turned out to have an amazing season and he isn’t washed. And I guess Lyme did not give up on the season like I suggested. This season, I once again do not like Lyme’s keepers. Schoop at 12 is pushing the boundaries. But Sisco at 1 could be one of the best keeps of the season. You guys know I love catchers. And to get a solid catcher for 1 is a solid way to start the season. Lyme decided to keep 7 pitchers so he will certainly be entering the draft with a hitters mentality.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 5


2. Raptors

Last Year’s Prediction: 4th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 2nd

Balance Available for Draft: $140

Raptors came in a solid second place last year. For the most part I analyzed the team correctly. I said Rendon was pricy at 32$ but he ended up having the best season of his career. I correctly predicted that Bo Bichette would be solid and so he was. Raptors was an all around solid team and that got him to second place. Now, looking at this season I like what I see. Raptors decided to hold onto Rendon for 32$ again. He would have gone for more on draft day, but I think Rendon will have a disappointing season. I love Bichette for 6$ and of course Hendricks at 6$ is a steal. I have high hopes for Raptors once again.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 1


3. AAA All Stars

Last Year’s Prediction: 2nd

Last Year’s Actual Result: 3rd

Balance Available for Draft: $135

I need to pat myself on the back for this amazing analysis and prediction. I knew Triple A had a solid team. I loved how he didn’t spend more than 22$ dollars on any player at the auction. That diversity in how he spent took him to the top of the standings for a solid third place finish. Of course, Judge is a steal at 18$ for this season assuming he can stay injury free. I love Vasquez at 10$ And Glasnow at 17$ has potential to be one of the best keeps this year. I am not very high on Biggio. I feel like he has a lot of bust potential. Id love to monitor Manaea. I feel like he has perfect game or at least no hitter potential this season.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 2


4. Scoopalicious

Last Year’s Prediction: 3rd

Last Year’s Actual Result: 4th

Balance Available for Draft: $153

Once again just a solid prediction by yours truly. Cron and Straw ended up being huge assets for Scoop. Yarborough and Lynn were also solid on the pitching side. Scoop spent 30$ on catchers last season which did not end up going in his favor. Perhaps he shouldn’t have listened to me. However, he is starting this season with Salvy Perez for 10$. Its hard to find that much value in a catcher on draft day so I love this keep. However, I’m not very hot on Anderson for 22$. I feel like he constantly underperforms. Scoop’s pitching is weak to start the season. I’m looking for Scoop to get a solid starter in the draft.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 7


5. Huskies

Last Year’s Prediction: 1st

Last Year’s Actual Result: 5th

Balance Available for Draft: $106

Huskies truly let me down last year. I had high hopes as I predicted Huskies to finish first overall. Huskies was clearly disappointed by players like Kluber and Eddy Encarnacion. And Stephen Piscotty turned out to be a complete waste. I love that Huskies is still confident in his team as he chose to spend a ton of money on his keepers. With only 106$ left for 12 players, I do not like Huskies chances this year. Much like Old Lyme last year, Huskies might have to give up on the season unless he can make something spectacular happen on draft day. And I cant end this without mentioning how washed Chris Sale is. Tommy got him good.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 12


6. Big No Show

Last Year’s Prediction: 5th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 6th

Balance Available for Draft: $131

Once again just another stellar prediction on my behalf. Big Show finished in the middle of the pack. Usually, Big Show is go big or go home as he invests huge money into a few players and fills the rest of his team with scrubs. Greg Bird was a throwaway. And Cole was a bit disappointing considering the amount of hype he had. But Big Show is choosing to once again stick with the big time players as he is keeping Cole for 32$ which could be a giant mistake. Eovaldi at 10$ is simply an awful investment and MY GOD he is keeping goddamn Mitch Haniger for 4$. When is Big Show going to learn that Mitch Haniger is not worth a DIME. To his credit, Astudillo at 6$ is solid and Devers at 19$ is a quality keep.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 3


7. Heavy Hitters

Last Year’s Prediction: 11th

Last Year’s Actual Result: T- 7th

Balance Available for Draft: $144

Its fair to say I missed the mark with Heavy Hitters. Snell was solid and Mike Trout was disappointing as I predicted. It was truly players such as Seager and Greinke that got the job done for Hitters. All things considered I am proud that he finished in 7th place. As for this season, I’m not loving what I see. Greinke at 27$ is pricy for my liking and Trout for 40$ is just ridiculous. Shohei for 23$ is a gamble I can appreciate. I think this is a go big or go home season for Hitters much like how Big Show usually is.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 9


8. Hot Corner

Last Year’s Prediction: 9th

Last Year’s Actual Result: T- 7th

Balance Available for Draft: $144

Well, I was pretty much right about Corner. He gave up on his pitching and went all in on the hitting which tuned out to be mostly a failure. He committed way to much of his funds on hitting and didn’t spend enough time getting those points in the pitching categories. However, with keepers like Nick Anderson and German, I love Corner’s chances to do solid in the pitching arena this season. Bogaerts for 24$ just isn’t worth it. But Madrigal for 15$ acts as a solid second baseman.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 4


9. Thornberrys

Last Year’s Prediction: 8th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 9th

Balance Available for Draft: $113

Another solid prediction by myself. Thorn finished in 9th and I predicted 8th. He clearly didn’t have enough firepower to get him to the top. He went all out on the yankees bias as he usually does by spending 67$ on Stanton and Torres which turned out to be a complete waste. However, this year I have some hope for his hitting as he has Guerrero Jr for 13$ as well as Castro for 10$. But spending 30$ and 36 on Torres and Correa respectively is simply throwing money out the window. And Giolito and Cessa aren’t enough on the pitching side. He needs to have a great pitching draft day if he wants to contend with the big boys this season.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 10


10. Sarson Crew

Last Year’s Prediction: 7th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 10th

Balance Available for Draft: $113

I am disappointed by how Sarson’s season went. I had some hope as he drafted one of my favorite players in Benintendi. Mike Ford did not have the season I expected, and Plawecki with the Illinois sentiment was unsuccessful. However, I have some hope for Sarson as he has some big names to start off the season such as Ryu, Lowe, and Abreu. But Abreu at 29$ is not worth and don’t even get me started with Jimenez for 23$. Just burning money. Sarson needs to have a solid draft day to have any chance this season.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 11


11. Kevin Stocker

Last Year’s Prediction: 6th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 11th

Balance Available for Draft: $165

Stocker had a disappointing season and I believe most of that is because he left 39$ on the table. He thought he had some amazing new strategy, but it turned out to be a failure. Players like Verlander and Robles let him down. He just didn’t have the superstars needed to get his team going in last year’s short season. Looking ahead I have hopes for players like Greg Holland and Mize. I am going to closely monitor Franco’s progress as he looks to get better on and off the field this season. Keeping Kelenic for 1$ is a great play. I think Stocker has the chance for a comeback season.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 6


12. New York Legends

Last Year’s Prediction: 10th

Last Year’s Actual Result: 12th

Balance Available for Draft: $176

Just like usual, Legends did not have what it takes. Tanaka at 20$ was a throwaway as I predicted. And Tom Murphy turned out to be solid. Chase Anderson was disappointing, but he was a gamble as I thought. Plain and simple if you looked at Legends team, you would’ve thought it was just an anti-all star game team. The group of guys who were rejected from the all-star game and all got together to have a cold one and cry together. On a positive note, Legends has a ton of money entering the draft and with keepers like Murphy and Sheffield, I have high hopes for Legends. Like usual, we see the Yankee Bias with a 30$ keep in Chapman. But with command of the draft room with the most money, I sense a turnaround season for Legends.

Pre-Draft Ranking: 8


Conclusions: It looks like a lot of teams are going to need to find pitchers in this draft. I expect there to be a lot of money spent on pitchers so teams with the need for hitters are in better shape. Keep in mind my rankings evaluate the team’s entire situation including balance available. I am not simply ranking teams based on their keepers. I hope you enjoyed. My Pre Draft Rankings are neatly organized below. Stay tuned for my post draft analysis and season predictions coming later in the month.


Pre-Draft Rankings:

1. Raptors

2. AAA All Stars

3. Big No Show

4. Hot Corner

5. Old Lyme Yankees

6. Kevin Stocker

7. Scoopalicious

8. NY Legends

9. Heavy Hitters

10. Thornberrys

11. Sarson Crew

12. Huskies









34 views0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page