top of page

I spent an hour and a half watching a Dude Perfect Documentary

Updated: Jul 9, 2020

So yesterday, Dude Perfect released a 84 minute documentary on YouTube that basically covered a large part of their history. I have never been a huge fan of Dude Perfect but I can proudly say I am one of their 50 million subscribers and I do watch a large portion of their videos. It only felt natural that I would tune in to their Documentary. And that's what I did. 84 minutes later plus a few ad breaks cause these guys gotta make money I was actually somewhat impressed. I think now is probably one of the worst times in history to release a Documentary because arguably the greatest sports documentary ever created is being aired right now but if I were to compare the Dude Perfect doc to other YouTube productions I would say they did a solid job.

However I think the whole thing was kind of cringy. Its hard to really understand what the audience for these guys are. Cause it seems like most of their fans are under the age of 10 yet I feel like the documentary just talked way to much about Jesus. yes Jesus. Nothing wrong with bringing a little faith into the doc but do 10 year olds want to go to church on a Monday. And to top all of that they kept bringing up how life is so much more about filling up stadiums and getting views yet that seems like what the doc was all about. They put on 21 shows across the country leaving their family behind. So why did they do it. They claim its to give back to the fans. I say its unclear. I think the evidence points to one clear thing. they most certainly regret the tour. Even from the beginning before every show they started, they gathered and did a big cheer yelling the number of shows they have left in the tour. They didn't cheer what number show this was in the tour, they yelled the opposite. Basically they were looking at the tour as the glass half empty. They couldn't wait for it to end. And even though they pretended to enjoy it, it couldn't be more clear they weren't really having fun.


Also one more point to mention. Cody's daughter has an imaginary friend named Sofia. Luckily I have never had an imaginary friend so I have never gone through the process of learning that they aren't real. I believe I was always convinced that imaginary friends were reserved for movies. So does Cody's daughter really have an imaginary friend or is it just part of their whole act. And how hold do you get before your parents stop playing along with the stupid imaginary friend game.


One more quick thought... cOnsIDeriNG thESe gUys aRe MuLtI-mILLioNaREs I'm SUrPrisED thE WiVEs aReN't HOttEr

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page