top of page

I was shocked to learn this about the MLB

Updated: Jul 9, 2020

So myself and fellow writer here at BXYFalcon, Scoop, were in a casual conversation about baseball and to be completely honest, I've never been a big baseball guy. I've rooted for the mets here and there but I wouldn't call myself a die hard fan or anything. More like its a Sunday so I'll kick up my feet and watch some TV and wow, the mets are on, maybe I'll tune in. On the other hand Scoop is a passionate Yankees fan and is extremely knowledgeable about the AL in particular. Some how we got to the point of discussing money in baseball and how the whole no salary cap thing really makes no sense because some teams, such as the Yankees pay 200,000,000 for their roster while teams like the Marlins pay only 40,000,000 which basically equates to Gerrit Cole's contract. I also raised the point that I was certain the AL spent way more money on their teams compared to the NL. I had no facts for this assumption so I decided to do some research and here's what I found.


I was terribly wrong. I did some rounding here and there cause I didn't want to deal with 9 digit numbers 30 different times but here's what I found. The total money for salaries by AL teams for this upcoming season is 1702000000. In words that number is 1 billion, 702 million dollars. Its actually even a bit more because I rounded down in many places. On the other hand the NL is 2098000000. In words that number is 2 billion, 98 million dollars. So I was wrong by about 400 million dollars. I guess I just assumed that because of teams like the Astros, Yankees, and Red Sox they would spend way much more money than the NL but nope. Keep in mind these numbers probably fluctuate every year depending on big player contracts such as Gerrit Cole, Mike Trout, and Bryce Harper but 400 million is a big discrepancy. So I will be the first to admit it, I was very wrong.

13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page