top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

Looking Back at the Past

I decided to look back at the past today and view some of my schoolwork from when I was younger. I found a poem that I wrote in April 2016 when I was in sixth grade. For those of you that know me, I hate poetry. I am not creative at all and I dreaded every April when my teacher said, "It's National Poetry Month." Every single year we would have to write poems and put together a collection and I always just wish I could use the poem I wrote the year before, but my mom wouldn't let me. The only poems I was actually good at writing, or should I say able to write without a mental breakdown, were when we were given prompts. Below I present to you "If I were in Charge of Everything" written by myself in April 2016.


If I Were in Charge of Everything

If I were in charge of everything

Tony Romo would never get injured

Dez Bryant wouldn’t drop the ball

The Cowboys would go to the Super Bowl every year

If I were in charge of everything

A-Rod wouldn’t be on the Yankees

Derek Jeter would still be playing

The Yankees would get another ring

If I were in charge of everything

Scoop Jardine would still be playing for Syracuse

Dajuan Coleman wouldn’t start

The Orangemen would have won this year

If I were in charge of everything

The Nets wouldn’t stink

They would not give up all their draft picks

They would make it to the playoffs

Only if I were in charge of everything



To be honest, I think it's a solid poem. As you may have realized, my stanzas were divided into my four favorite sports teams, the Cowboys, Yankees, Syracuse Men's Basketball, Nets. Looking back, I actually do regret saying a couple of those things.


First looking at my Cowboy stanza,Tony Romo getting injured worked out pretty well for the Cowboys. Although the 2015 season was dreadful as we went 4-12, we selected Ezekiel Elliot with the fourth overall pick and even got Dak Prescott in the fourth round too. However, Romo was healthy before the 2016 season so I expected to see Romo and Zeke, but Romo got injured in a preseason game which led Prescott take over Romo's roll. The rest is history. Next, of course the infamous Dez drop was still fresh in my mind so of course I wish he didn't drop the ball even though he 100% caught it. Finally, I wished the Cowboys would go to the Super Bowl every year. Interesting how I didn't want them to win every year. Well, based on my season prediction, my wish will come true that they make it, but man, why didn't I want them to win?


Next is my Yankee stanza. I do not know what I had against Arod at the time. I'm guessing my dad told me he was a bad guy for using PEDs but I actually love Arod to this day. I think he definitely deserves to get in the Hall of Fame because he is one of very few players to openly admit to using steroids. It's unfortunate that he made that mistake but I think he is a great person and even better ball player. Jeter was definitely one of my favorite Yankees and I was very sad without him on the field. Lastly, I am still waiting for another World Series title from the Yankees. Although we won in 2009 and I do remember it, I was very young and my parents put me to bed for game 6 when they won it so I had to watch the recording in the morning which isn't the same. My parents promised me they would let me stay up if the Yankees made it to a World Series again.


Third is my Syracuse stanza. For y'all that don't know, Scoop Jardine is my favorite Syracuse Men's basketball player ever and his name combined with a couple other reasons is why my dad calls me Scoop. Next, I absolutely hated Dajuan Coleman. He was the 14th ranked prospect in the class of 2012 and was supposed to be one and done. Instead, he stayed at Cuse for 5 years (only playing four) and was atrocious. Over 91 career games, he averaged 4.9 points and 4.4 rebounds. He started all 37 of Cuse's games over the 2015-16 season and it was hard to watch him play. Finally, I wished the Orange won that year. As the 10 seed, they made it to the final four and it was a remarkable run. They overcame UVA in the elite eight after being down 16 in the second half. I remember star freshman, Malachi Richardson's clutch performance vividly. Unfortunately, the Orange lost to UNC in the Final Four.


Finally, I wrote a stanza about the Brooklyn Nets. "The Nets wouldn't stink," "They would not give up all their draft picks," and "They would make it to the playoffs" are all tied together. The Nets finished the 2015-16 season with a 21-61 record and did not have their own first round pick until 2019 let alone a first round pick until 2017. Luckily, Kenny Atkinson came along and developed the Nets young core as well as acquired D'Angelo Russell and made him an all star caliber player. Dlo led the Nets to their first playoff appearance last year for the first time since the 2014-15 season.


I hope you guys enjoyed.

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Eli Smith
Eli Smith
Jun 10, 2020

Sorry about taking all your draft picks

Like
bottom of page