top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

RBC Heritage Final Round Recap

Wow, just wow. I am honestly shocked Webb Simpson won the tournament and was able to give me the win in my small bet with Bxyfalcon. Webb just played spectacular golf today with a bogey-free round and seven birdies, five of which came on the last seven holes. He was truly just dialed in at the end and it seemed as if he couldn't miss. Once again birdies were being handed out like free samples at Costco. We saw our first 62 (-9) of the day coming from Dylan Fritelli, but that only brought him to -17 for the tourney and didn't prove to be enough. Webb won shooting -22 which is the all time record at the RBC Heritage. To put in perspective how high the scoring was this year, the previous record was -20 held by Brian Gay in 2010 and he won by 10 strokes. This year, 39 players were within 10 strokes of Webb. It certainly looked like a playoff was very likely all the way throughout until Webb gained one stroke on Abraham Ancer at the 16th. Ancer finished in second at -21. Ancer wasn't the only other player in contention though. Daniel Berger (-20), Tyrell Hatton (-20), and Joaquin Neiman (-19) all were in very good positions at one point to potentially win. If it came down to a playoff, I have to believe Webb would have choked as he is 2-5 in his playoff career on the PGA Tour. Nonetheless, Webb earned his 7th career PGA Tour win and his second on Father's Day as he won his the U.S. Open in 2012. That is his first and only major to date. Additionally, I find it interesting that another one of his PGA Tour wins came on Mother's Day in 2018 when he won the Player's Championship. Switching over to the field now, my man Ian Poulter played solid once again today going -3 and finishing tied for 14th at -16. Justin Thomas had the second best day on the course today shooting -8 and finishing tied for 8th at -17. Lastly, I just want to mention the disrespect golf gets. First, I need to mention there was about a 3 hour rain delay starting at 2:35 when many players were just a few holes in. I was actually happy to see this delay as I was outside most of the day spending Father's Day with my family so I knew I would be able to watch more once my family left. However, at 7:00, the golf was overrode by 60 minutes. I think this is so disrespectful since I know every NFL game takes precedent over 60 minutes. Why is golf not the same? I was very disappointed as it was moved onto the Golf Channel which I don't have. Luckily, I was able to watch it on the CBSSports app on my phone, but I just wish CBS respected the sport a bit more. Once again, Happy Father's Day to all the fathers out there and I hope you enjoyed your day filled with a spectacular golf tournament.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page