top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

RBC Heritage Round 2 Recap

Sorry for the very late blog. Hopefully y'all will wake up and enjoy this nice round two recap. It seemed to be an easy day out on the course. 128 out of the 151 players in the field shit par or better. 22 players hit over par. One player was withdrawn from the tournament. That player was Nick Watney. Watney began to feel symptoms of the coronavirus early Friday morning and was tested again after being tested when he initially arrived in South Carolina on Tuesday. The result came back positive and he was immediately withdrawn from play before the second round started. A case of coronavirus on the PGA Tour was almost inevitable. I expect there to be more players that test positive but I hope the PGA has taken the correct safety precautions that enables play to continue while keeping everybody safe. Anyway, I hope Watney feels better and can make a complete recovery. Switching gears back over to the actual tournament, I was completely wrong about the cut given that the course was very easy. Only one person that went over par today made the cut and that was Mark Hubbard and he was a co leader after round one so that just shows you how many players played well today. However, Bryson DeChambeau remained on a tear as hit shot 7 under par. He now just sits one stroke back of Webb Simpson and they will be the final pair for round three. My guy Ian Poulter did not have a nice start to his day with 2 early bogies but finished with a respectable day going -2 as he birdied four of his last five. He sits just 3 strokes behind the lead and will be paired with Brooks Koepka for round three. I want to mention a small bet my friend BxyFalcon and I made. BxyFalcon is a man of the field. He always will take the field over a couple favorites. On the other hand, I usually like to take the favorites but not always. We decided to make a small bet. I have Webb, Bryson, or Koepka to win, and he has the field. It will be interesting to see how this plays out but right now I really like my chances. I will also still be rooting for Ian Poulter though as he has been my sleeper and I will enjoy the pride more in predicting that than in winning this small bet with Bxy. Stay tuned for a round three recap. It might have to come at this time tomorrow as there is a busy day ahead with golf, the Belmont Stakes and then another UFC Fight Night.


Peep the the cover photo edit of Watney with Covid-19. I did my best. Bxy is a better graphic designer/editor than I am.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page