top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

Round 2 of Charles Schwab Challenge: Kuch let me Down

Wow what a phenomenal day of golf once again at the Charles Schwab Challenge. After two rounds of play, the 29 year old African American, Harold Varner III is leading the field by just one stroke at -11. I have to believe he is more motivated than ever before to win his first tournament on the PGA Tour in the midst of the current surge of the Black Lives Matter movement after the recent and very tragic killing of George Floyd. I would definitely be happy for Varner III and the Black community if he was able to pull this one off. The most amazing part of his performance today was that he triple bogied the first hole and still managed to finish four under par on the day. Those numbers can certainly prove how dialed in he truly was for the remaining 17 holes. Now he certainly has some work to do as several fantastic golfers namely, Jordan Spieth, Bryson DeChambeau, and Rory Mcllroy are just one or two strokes behind. I can't wait for the final two rounds of this tournament. However, before ending this short blog, I must give a shout out to my man Kuch. He almost had it. Like I mentioned yesterday, finishing -2 (-3 on the day) would have been enough to make the cut. Kuch went even through the first nine holes so he knew he needed to turn it up. He would birdie the next three holes and then another a couple holes later to put him at -4 on the day and -3 in total which certainly qualified for the cut. The Kuch clutch genes literally came out as I predicted. However, on his last hole he hit the ball into thewater which ultimately caused him to double bogey, finish at -1 over the two rounds, and miss the cut. Kuch choked on the final hole. I'll get over it and I just can't wait for him to bounce back big time.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page