top of page

Scoop's Fantasy Baseball League

For those of you who don't know, Scoop is involved in a very serious fantasy baseball league. He's been doing it nearly his whole life and it is very big money. I have never gotten myself involved in fantasy baseball so my knowledge is somewhat limited. But here is the analysis for Scoop's fantasy baseball league. Enjoy

======================================================================

Attached here are the rosters for the league. View the rosters before reading my analysis.


Fantasy Baseball Post Draft Analysis


1. Triple A All Stars

Pre-Draft Ranking- 6

Triple A All Stars has a well-balanced team led by Aaron Judge, Austin Meadows, and Carlos Carrasco. Surprisingly, Triple A does not have any player that was purchased for more than 22 dollars. I particularly like Jacoby Jones as well as Cesar Hernandez. I think triple a does not have enough fire power to get him into the contention of first place. I almost forgot to mention the veteran Miguel Cabrera. Cabrera is getting up their as far as age goes so, I don’t think 10 is a great price for him. I would very much like to monitor Gary Sanchez’s progress throughout the season. I think this can be a break-through season for Gary has he becomes one of the league’s best catchers.


2. Big Show

Pre-Draft Ranking-10

Big Show was not going into the draft with a great team. I think he made some great additions to the team including Josh Donaldson and Jackie Bradley. This team most certainly has a wide range of players including Gerrit Cole and Roberto Osuna at the top. I think Greg Bird for 1 could be one of the great steals of the draft. Of course, I am still a large fan of Eovaldi, and I love the addition of Bob Chirinos. I would like to monitor Mallex Smith’s progress as he has much hype going into this season in Seattle. All in all, I think Big Show did the classic Big Show; he made large investments into superstars and is hoping for the best. I think he had a great draft day.


3. Heavy Hitters

Pre-Draft Ranking-11

There was not much hope for Heavy Hitters going into this season. I think you can’t point out Heavy Hitters without acknowledging a great move he made just hours before the draft. He chose to drop Blake Snell for 37 which was a good decision which caused him to save 7 dollars as he picked up Snell for 30. This is a great move from heavy Hitters. Especially since he spent all 260 dollars, this shows how crucial of a move that was. I love Alex Colome for 21. He has much upside going into this season. I think Heavy Hitters has pretty weak hitters except for the obvious including Mike Trout who was overpaid for like every other season and of course Carlos Santana. It was obvious how Heavy struggled with money as he had to settle for 8 1$ players. I am still not very positive about Heavy Hitters.


4. Hot Corner

Pre-Draft Ranking-9

Hot Corner did a strategy this year that rarely ever works. He has completely given up on his pitching staff and gone all in on his hitters. He has great hitters including Altuve, Springer, and Brantley. I think Hot Corner wasn’t sure exactly what the new category was going into this season. I am pretty sure he believed the category was OBP as we know that the Astros, we’ll certainly be getting on base a lot. I do like Zach Britton but besides that the pitching staff of Hot Corner is terrible. There really isn’t that much to say besides that Hot Corner should probably thinking about next year as we know committing 100% or actually 65% to be exact of your funds on hitting usually doesn’t work.

5. Huskies

Pre-Draft Rankings- 2

As everyone is already aware, me and the other analysts were all in on the Huskies going into draft day. I don’t think Huskies really capitalized on his situation. Besides from Corey Kluber who was overbought for 26, Huskies spent a total of 6 dollars on 5 pitchers. Let’s just say Huskies may be a bit overconfident in the 3 pitchers he chose to keep from last year. Huskies decided to get a lot of great players and a lot of weaker ones on the hitting side. He invested most of his funds in Chicago players including Luis, Encarnacion, and Moncada. I believe he overpaid for many players. He has extremely weak catchers. I would like to watch Stephen Piscotty throughout the season so we can finally see if he can turn his career around. I think huskies will have to rely on his keepers to carry him through this season.


6. Kevin Stocker

Pre-Draft Ranking-3

I think Stocker had a clear purpose as he entered the draft. He wanted to balance out his strong pitching staff with quality hitters. I think he was successful in that matter, but he failed to get a clear superstar. So why did he fail to get a superstar. Kevin Stocker made history. He exited the draft with 39 dollars in his pocket. 39 dollars means he could swap out a player like Jarred Kelenic who costs 1 dollar for someone like Mike trout that costs 40$. I don’t think anyone will ever understand Kevin Stocker’s strategy. That being said, I am not convinced Stocker will be able to put up the numbers to get him on the leaderboard this season.


7. NY Legends

Pre-Draft Ranking-7

Drafting has never been the best part of NY Legends. However, I believe he had a good draft day. I will once again point out the Yankee bias with the acquisition of Tanaka for 20. It goes without saying NY Legends’ pitching staff is weak at best, but his hitters are solid with players like Dee Gordon who will get you some steals as well as Kevin Pillar and Gurriel. I want to monitor a few players throughout the season including Tom Murphy, Chase Anderson, and Austin Romine. I am torn as to how this team will perform but ultimately it just doesn’t have enough fire power to finish on the leaderboard. However, I expect NY Legends to finish at the top of the charts for Stolen Bases.


8. Old Lyme

Pre-Draft Ranking-12

While it still remains unclear, I think it is fair to say Old Lyme has given up on his season. I highly recommend he tries to trade Alex Bregman as he will have no future next year at 36. Old Lyme might as well start building a strategy to perform well next season because he has absolutely no hope for this season. Once again, I would be sold on his team if we were in 2015 with players like Nelson Cruz, Brett Gardner, Travis Shaw and Whit Merrifield. And for fuck sake Mitch Haniger is not worth $0.50. My thoughts for Old Lyme’s season have not changed before and after the draft.

9. Raptors

Pre-Draft Ranking-1

I do still like the Raptors. But I like them less. Anthony Rendon comes in bit pricey at 32. Of course, Raptors has great potential with players like Bo Bichette, Willie Calhoun and AJ Puk. However, players like Justin Upton and Albert Pujols are complete turn offs. Perhaps I am a bit to critical of a team I had so much hope in, but I would be lying to say I wasn’t disappointed. Players like Eddie Rosario and James Paxton will carry this team. I’m excited to see if Raptors has enough to get him to 1st place.


10. Sarson Crew

Pre-Draft Ranking-5

I am very satisfied with Sarson Crew’s draft day. He made some great moves getting Jose Abreu, Andrew Benintendi and Hyun Jin. However, I am not sold on the hype behind players like Lance McCullers and Brandon Lowe. There is of course much upside with Mike Ford at 2 but he will most likely spend most of the season on the bench or in the minors. Kevin Plawecki at 1 is probably only for sentimental value as he is from Illinois just like Sarson is. I think Sarson does have potential to finish in the top 3 but he will certainly need to acquire some players during the season to make this happen. I will certainly be watching Shoemaker throughout the season.


11. Scoopalicious

Pre-Draft Rankngs-8

I wasn’t very sold on Scoop’s team going into the draft but after the draft he has certainly made me rethink my initial analysis. I love players like CJ Cron, Shin So, Romo, and Straw. Scoop is clearly lacking on the pitching side so hopefully players like Bundy and Yarborough will be able to carry him to the top of those standings. However, his powerful hitters such as JD Martinez and Miguel Andujar could lead Scoop to victory. I can’t end this analysis without mentioning one of my favorite players in the league, Yasmani Grandal. Scoop definitely listened to my pre-draft analysis as he spent 30 dollars on catchers this season. I think Scoop has the potential to finally get the first place he has been looking for all these years.


12. Thornberry’s

Pre-Draft Ranking-4

Thornberry is one of those teams that has an unfortunate story. He was entering the draft with a lot of potential but sadly he exits the draft with little to no hope. He has completely given up on his pitching staff spending only 54 dollars on his pitchers. However, Thornberry certainly may be able to compensate his awful pitching with some great hitters including Elvis Andrus, Carlos Correa, and Max Kepler. Thornberry’s is another team to show clear yankees bias spending a combined 67 dollars on Torres and Stanton. Sadly, Thornberry doesn’t have much hope going into this season. In order to have a chance he’ll need to spend some capital acquiring pitchers from other teams.

Ranking Segment:

12=worst 1=best

Pre-Draft Power Rankings

12.Old Lyme

11. Heavy Hitters

10. Big Show

9. Hot Corner

8. Scoop

7.NY Legends

6. Triple A

5. Sarson Crew

4. Thornberry’s

3. Kevin Stocker

2. Huskies

1. Raptors

Draft Day Power Rankings (which team had the best draft day)

12.stocker

11.Raptors

10. Thornberry’s

9. Old Lyme

8. NY Legends

7.Sarson Crew

6.Heavy Hitters

5.Hot Corner

4.Huskies

3.Big Show

2.Scoopalicious

1.Triple A All stars

** Teams ranked 1-4 had good draft days. Team Ranked 5-12 had bad draft days


Power Rankings Post- Draft as of 3/22/2020

12.Old Lyme

11. Heavy Hitters

10. NY Legends

9. Hot Corner

8. Thornberry’s

7. Sarson Crew

6. Kevin Stocker

5. Big Show

4. Raptors

3. Scoopalicious

2. Triple A All Stars

1. Huskies

====================

I hope you enjoy this long analysis. Myself and Scoop will monitor his league throughout the season.

19 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page