top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

Super Bowl LV Prediction

After a full month of writing these blogs about my 2020 NFL season predictions, we have finally reached the Super Bowl. This should be a great one. This matchup between the Cowboys and Chiefs comes at about +3000 odds currently on most sites and that is tremendous value in my opinion. These two teams are the respective one seeds in their conferences each finishing with 13+ wins over the regular season and they certainly deserve to be here.

Leading the Chiefs is former MVP and Super MVP in Patrick Mahomes and leading the Cowboys is former Rookie of the Year and current Offensive Player of the Year in Dak Prescott. These two quarterbacks will probably be the two highest paid players in the game next year even though Mahomes is significantly better than Prescott. Now they both have an elite group of pass catchers and runners surrounding them. For the Chiefs, rookie Clyde Edwards-Helaire is the go to running back and they also have Tyreek Hill, Sammy Watkins, and Travis Kelce to catch passes. For the Cowboys, they have star running back Ezekiel Elliot, as well as Amari Cooper, Michael Gallup and rookie, CeeDee Lamb. These are the two most powerful offenses in the league and I think this game will be a complete shootout. The opening line for the game is Chiefs -3 and the total points in 57.5. I would expect many people to buy half points on the spread in both directions as well as the full point for the over better as 57 is a very common number. And of course the biggest lock of the night is the coin flip being tails.

As I said above, this should be an incredible game. I am even more excited for this game because Jim Nantz and Tony Romo are in the booth calling the game. They are the leagues best announcers by far in my opinion. I'm also excited for America to go crazy if Romo shows any bias towards the Cowboys which may be very hard for him not to. Anyway, here is my prediction.

There will be a very limited amount of defense in this game. I think the over is a very strong bet. There will never be a clear team in control and thus it is all about gaining momentum. I think two very strong prop bets are the over in rushing yards for both Mahomes and Prescott. I know the Mahomes over bettors got screwed last year on kneels to end the game but once again, I think both quarterbacks will be running a ton. When it is all said and done, the Kansas City Chiefs will come out on top. They have been their before and they are ready to do it again. I know that if the Chiefs are down they are bound to make a comeback but I simply cannot say the same about the Cowboys. My final score prediction is 41-38 Chiefs. The over hits easily and the the spread pushes although many bettors will be happy as both Chiefs -2.5 and Cowboys +3.5 hit. Patrick Mahomes wins his second consecutive MVP as he throws for 400+ yards and 4 touchdowns.

After this game, many will begin to wonder if Patrick Mahomes has potential to break or at least tie Brady's record of six Super Bowls. Personally, I think he's got a shot. I wouldn't bet on it because obviously winning four more Super Bowls is incredibly hard but there is nobody of his caliber in the NFL right now in my opinion.

I had a great month writing this 2020 NFL series for you guys. I hoped you all enjoyed. I can't wait to look back on this at the end of the season!

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Eli Smith
Eli Smith
Jun 08, 2020

Been a great series of blogs, and as a partial cowboy fan I’d be very happy with their season outcome. However, the one point that I completely disagree with and I am a little appalled that you predicted this is that the coin toss will be tails. It will most definitely be beads. Thanks for the blogs

Like
bottom of page