top of page
  • Writer's pictureScoop

The MLB Draft

With the first pick in the 2020 MLB Draft (or should I say, First-Year Player Draft), the Detroit Tigers select Spencer Torkelson, First Baseman, Arizona State. Wow just a shocker at first pick. Nobody ever thought Torkelson would go number one. In fact nobody has even ever heard of Spencer Torkelson. Like what is the MLB Draft? I just don't understand it. All I know is that players can drafted out of high school or out of college or at age 21 if neither of those happened. I think the main reason nobody cares about the MLB draft is because the majority of these players spend several years in the minor leagues before getting the chance to play in the majors if that. It is honestly just a pathetic draft. Sports fans get so excited for the NFL and NBA draft because they get to see their favorite college players make it to the professional league and possibly make an impact right away. The problem with the MLB is nobody watches high school or college baseball. I'd say I am in the top 10% of baseball knowledge among baseball fans in America and the draft gets me every time. It is so hard to comprehend that I have just given up at this point. I think the basic strategy is to pick the best player available no matter what the position because the player will not reach the majors for several years most likely and the general managers have no idea what their team will look like five years down the road. I'm sure the majority of my readers didn't even know the MLB draft was today. There are just so many flaws with baseball and I think that is why they are losing tons of fans. I'm not sure how to make it a more popular event but literally nobody cares about the MLB draft. No disrespect to Spencer Torkelson either but nobody knows who you are. Oh and by the way, I almost forgot to mention, the Royals got a steel in Asa Lacy with the fourth overall pick.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page