top of page

US Open Day 8 Recap and Day 9 Predictions

Its been a great first four rounds at the 2020 US Open. There were a lot of unknowns coming into this tournament but so far everything has been run smoothly and we have made it to the quarterfinals. I started this US Open with giving my quarterfinal predictions. Now that we are here, I figured I'd look back and see what I got right and what I got wrong. Let's start with our first quarterfinal match up.


My prediction for this match was Opelka vs Djokovic. In reality, this match will be between Carreno Busta and Shapovalov. Of course no one expected Djoko to be out this early so I can't feel bad about that pick. Opelka made an early exit this year at the open but I did have Shapovalov on my future bets card to win this whole tournament at 65/1. We will surely keep an eye on that.


The second predicted match up I had was Zverev and Tsitsipas. The actual match up we have is Zverev and Coric. A couple rounds ago, Tsitsipas blew a 5-1 lead against Coric. Once again this is a prediction I don't feel bad about. I correctly predicted Zverev to make it to this point.


Lets gooooo. I correctly predicted this third match up. It is Andrey Rublev against Danil Medvedev. Both of these Russians are playing great tennis. I predicted from the beginning that Medvedev would win this tournament. We will monitor his matches very closely.


For this final match up I predicted it would be De Minaur and Murray. The actual match up is De Minaur and Thiem. This is a prediction I can and should feel bad about. Murray had a terrible tournament and Thiem is playing great tennis.


I thought I would give that little recap as we move onto the quarterfinals. I correctly predicted 4/8 which is not to bad considering there were 128 players in this event. Lets get right into it with today's recap and tomorrows predictions.


Today, I went 3-1 for my match predictions bringing my total record to 81-39. Something that is quite obvious is that as the tournament progresses, there are less and less matches each day. This is why my record hasn't changed very much. At the end of the tournament I will have a record that is weighted based on each round. For example the first round predictions will be weighted as 1, the second round match ups will be weighted as 2, and so on. This is similar to how ESPN scores March Madness brackets. If you don't understand, I will explain fully at the end of the tournament in my final US Open blog. That being said I also went up 1.1 units bringing my total unit count to -2.0. Lets get into tomorrows predictions.


Match Predictions:

1. Shapovalov

2. Zverev


Official Betting Card:

Shapovalov -3.5 games 2.1u for 2u

Zverev -4.5 games 1.1u for 1u


Parlay-

Shapovalov ML

Zverev ML

1u for 1.3u



7 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page