top of page

US Open is now US Closed

One of the most attended sporting events in the world at 850,000 fans is now fan-less. Its not like this is surprising news but Cuomo announced today that the US Open would be able to go on as scheduled, which is a big positive considering tournaments like Wimbledon were canceled, but there will not be any fans in attendance. Even star players such as Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal have said they are a bit concerned about coming to New York which is basically its own epicenter for corona virus. For an average sports fan tennis without fans doesn't seem to crazy. Even for a passionate tennis fan like myself I don't believe tennis without fans will be much different but instead I am more personally affected. Ever since I was 18 months old I have gone to the US Open every year. I usually go twice, one time being during the qualifiers week and one time during the main draw tournament. I've seen the US open adapt. Qualifiers week used to be a time where you can look out into the distance and see maybe 50 other people on the grounds of the tennis center. Now you are unable to take a step forward without worrying about stepping on someone. I've made countless memories and experienced wonderful and terrible things. I asked Nick Kygrios to give me his broken racket and he tossed it into my arms. I've caught many balls from players like Kevin Anderson after they sign them and hit them into the crowd. I've held the Bryan Brothers Olympic Gold Medal in my hands. I kindly asked the doubles GOAT Leander Paes for his dirty towel in which he signed it and dropped it into my arms. I have experienced an Earthquake in the old grand stand as our seats began to shake and chaos erupted. And speaking of the old grand stand, I have witnessed courts rise and fall. I always loved walking back and forth between the grand stand and Louis Armstrong stadium which is now something that is no longer available to do. I remember when side courts had nearly no seats so we would stand late at night to watch long Mixed Doubles Matches. I remember when Court 17 didn't exist at all. I have seen players rise and fall. I watched Grigor Dimitrov and Nick Kyrgios rise from the beginning of their careers to now becoming some of the best in the world. I have seen the end of careers such as David Ferrer. To the countless trips down to Flushing Meadows, in which I would carry tennis balls in just waiting to be signed by players like Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka, Caroline Wozniaki, Ivan Lendl, and Lindsay Davenport, to the many times of cheering on my favorites, and holding my breath on second serve match points, I have grown up with this tennis tournament and I have never skipped an opportunity to attend this wonderful event. And now in the year 2020, for the first time since I was just 18 months old, I will not be able to attend the US open, because one man chose to eat a bat. Thank you for your time.



8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page